Recently I was faced with the dilemma of having a weekend holiday. How can that possibly be a problem, you might ask? How could a weekend holiday not be fun? My problem was, I was recuperating from back surgery and traveling by plane or car long distances was not an option. So we decided on keeping our destination close to Adelaide to minimise traveling.
But where do you go for comfortable accommodation, good dining, relaxing short walks and pleasant places and interesting sites to see and enjoy?
For our holiday we decided on a special weekender package at the Atlantic Tower Motor Inn at Glenelg. It was only a 25-minute drive to this popular beach location, which provided us more time to relax and enjoy our selves. There was also something about their advertising that struck a chord with me - "It isn't about what you do while you're here, what you see or eat, it's the memories you take with you when you leave."
We settled in on our first night after a light evening meal, and as comfortable as the bed would be for most people, I experienced severe back pain by the next morning. It was when I mentioned my discomfort to Christine, the Receptionist; we experienced their exceptional service. At no time did I mention I write reviews and was seeking special consideration. This weekend was my weekend off from writing. Christine explained how they were refurbishing their accommodation facilities for guests with limited mobility and I was invited to change rooms. The upgrading, she said, will make the Atlantic Tower Motor Inn one of the few Hotels/Motels in Adelaide to offer such facilities for guests with limited mobility. Our new room also came with a private balcony and a stunning view from the tenth floor.
All I required was a firmer mattress, but we were provided with a split king bed, which could be converted to two singles, if needed. We settled for the double and the join was unnoticeable. The bathroom had a wheel-in wet area and all the safety features necessary for guests with limited mobility. Their goal to make our stay more comfortable and enjoyable was certainly achieved.
We decided on the free continental breakfasts in the breakfast room overlooking the Holdfast Shores Marina from the ninth floor. The Atlantic Tower Motel is ideally located so we left our car in the free off-street parking and set off for a leisurely walk around Glenelg, which has so much history and diverse places as beaches, marina, shops, restaurants, pubs, jetty and entertainment facilities.
Our walks took in the Marina Pier development, the Buffalo Restaurant and the marina. We relished our morning coffees overlooking the Holdfast Shores development and casually wandered along the foreshore to a massive entertainment complex with waterslides, rides and games called The Beachouse. Not recommended relaxation for my back, so we settled for watching the action.
At Moseley Square we viewed an art exhibition, which was uniquely set up in shipping containers. Glenelg is the home of the Bay Discovery Centre. Visitors are invited to check out the free museum located in the Glenelg Town Hall, which displays Glenelg's history via interactive multimedia exhibitions.
Moseley Square I feel is like the central hub of Glenelg with its wide variety of shops, cafes and entertainment. In one direction you have the Glenelg Jetty, while opposite there is the tramline, which will take you directly to the city of Adelaide, on through to the Entertainment Centre at Hindmarsh.
As we admired the scenery and atmosphere of the beach and the various restaurants on the Marina Pier we decided to enjoy the seafood special at The Fish Glenelg Restaurant. The meal was superb and reasonably priced. Along with its friendly service, it is certainly worth checking out. Again, they were unaware I might write a review.
For anyone with limited mobility or experiencing discomfort due to severe back pain, I recommend the special accommodation facilities at the Atlantic Tower Motor Inn for your next holiday accommodation. Due to their understanding and excellent customer service I was able to take pleasure in our weekend holiday of leisurely walks along the beautiful beach area and main shopping and activities on Jetty Road; all walking distance from the Atlantic Tower Motor Inn.
Reply from Craig Leverenz: Thank you for the wonderful review Haydn. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay in Glenelg and you were able to take home some lovely memories of your trip. I will pass on your comments to Christine.
We stayed here for two nights. The reception was friendly and helpful - we were offered a trolley to take our bags to our room. Although the hotel looked a bit old there was nothing to complain about in our room which was on the 9th floor. We had a balcony with views across to the beach, airport, City and mountains - very nice. The bed was a comfortable kingsize [sic] one. A toaster was provided with a warning that if you burnt the toast it would set off the fire alarm - I avoided this by cooking our toast in the bathroom! There was no restaurant on site but breakfast was able to be ordered however we didn't try this. Car parking was on an open carpark [sic] next door for which your are given a voucher so you don't have to pay. The hotel was good value.
Reply from Nicole Catabran: Hi there - thanks for the wonderful review. Our building is quite old however our rooms have all been updated within the last 5 years so we are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your room. Thanks for staying with us and we hope to see you again!
I was in Adelaide at an incredibly busy time to cover cricket for the ABC. On the morning of my final stay at the Hotel no cab arrived after nearly an hour of waiting. James (the hotel manager) offered to take me with my luggage to my next destination and then to drop me at the Oval for work. In short he was prepared to go to any extraordinary amount of personal inconvenience to help me out of a very difficult situation. He did this in the most considerate manner. I enjoyed our chat and can attest to what an incredible service ethos he has. My room was really comfortable. In particular the bed was simply amazing. Slept incredibly well. James and Kye, the young woman on the desk were simply among the most courteous and caring people I have met in hospitality and I travel a lot. This is a family business and it feels like it. Support this hotel.
Reply from James Brown: Thank you for your kind words Cate – I appreciate you sharing your thoughts on your stay. Whilst making last minute dashes into the city is not a service we can readily offer, I’m glad we could be of assistance on a day that was clearly important to you. We look forward to serving you next time you are in Adelaide.
Me and my partner stayed here over New Years. We are a young couple so couldn’t afford the fancy expensive hotels in Glenelg that cost an arm and a leg. This place is very affordable, before we arrived we thought there has to be something wrong with the place for it to be such a great price but there were absolutely no faults. The staff at the front desk were amazing, the parking was free and right next to the hotel, and the rooms were clean, spacious with an amazing view even though we weren’t facing the ocean. It is a very short walk to Jetty Road and also to the beach. Amazing all round and will definitely be staying here for our frequent trips to Glenelg.
Reply from Nicole Catabran: Hi Ali, thank you for staying with us. We're very pleased to hear you had a fantastic stay with your partner and enjoyed your New Years. Hopefully we will see you again this New Years!
My husband and I have just returned from a weekend stay at the Atlantic Tower Motor Motor Inn. I recommend this 100%. Everything was perfect. Our Room 112 was just beautiful, roomy enough with 2 lounge chairs, and table and chairs, plenty of space for our clothes. A decent sized fridge with mini bar that still had enough room to place your own drinks etc. The complimentary breakfast - toast, cereal, juices, coffee was just perfect. We felt safe parking the car in the off street car park (I'm from VicPol). Close to Glenelg for shopping and restaurants and Tram into the City. My husband is a Golfer and played at the Glenelg Golf Course which is close by. Also a short drive or Taxi to Harbourtown. We are frequent visitors to Glenelg and have just changed from our "normal" Motel to Atlantic Tower Motor Inn and we have both been blown away by the difference in the high standard, customer service (thank you Christine for all you assistance) location, cleanliness and condition of rooms. Glad to see that the complimentary shampoo/conditioner soap, being replaced with the wall mounted soap, shampoo/conditioner etc. we found this in the Hotels we stayed at in England and it is so much cleaner and does not leave a mess. The photos of the rooms on this web site is exactly what the room looks like. Looking forward to a return visit early next year.
Reply from Craig Leverenz: Dear Janet, thank you for the wonderful review and your continued patronage. As always, we take pleasure in providing a high standard of quality, not only with our rooms, but also with our level of customer service. We look forward to seeing you again.
Have stayed at the Atlantic Tower Motor Inn several times now and the quality of service from the the staff and the room quality never disappoints. Parking is easy and you are close to the Glenelg restaurant and shopping district.
Reply from Nicole Catabran: Hi Terry, thanks for the lovely review - we're thrilled to hear that we have been providing consistently great service over the years.
Loved it again! This was my second time around at the Atlantic Tower Motor Inn, and it didn't disappoint. I highly recommend spending a little extra $$$ for a spa room. You can literally watch your large TV with Foxtel in the bath with speakers in there too :) Doesn't get much better than that.
Other great touches included free wifi (day limit applies), awesomely comfortable bed, free laundry facilities, balcony for fresh air and of course the stunning views. My room on the 10th floor overlooked the Glenelg marina on one side and Adelaide on the other. Was a wonderful welcome back to Adelaide.
The service was impeccable - friendly and efficient and nothing was a hassle. A big thank you to Craig and the rest of the team for making my stay in Adelaide very special. I can't wait to return again!
Reply from Craig Leverenz: Thank you for the wonderful review. I’m glad you enjoyed your stay. The Premium Spa rooms are definitely something special. Perfect for a romantic night away. Look forward to seeing you next time.
Always go out of there [sic] way to get the accomodation [sic] we ask for.
Room location all are terrific. We love staying there. We ask for a beach room if we can get otherwise half city half beach. They always try to accomodate [sic] us.Watermark hotel is opposite which has a terrific smorgasboard and all other restaurants are within walking distance and activities.
Reply from Nicole Catabran: Hi Jan, thank you for this amazing review. We pride ourselves in ensuring we take the hassle out of everyone's stay and that our guests always have an enjoyable and memorable stay with us, so we're glad to see we have achieved that. Hope to see you again in the future!
Stayed here four nights over a weekend. Booked a tower room on the 10th floor. Room was comfortable with a good sized bathroom, good quality bed and a view to the west over the ocean and part of the marina. The breakfast was a good continental breakfast and there was plenty of it. The staff were extremely helpful and nothing was too hard. A special thanks to Christine who helped us out with advice on some businesses we were looking for. Spot on directions. We found this quite a pleasant experience and will recommend it to friends and family. It will be our home away from home on our next trip to Adelaide.
Reply from : Thank you for the lovely review Ian. I’m glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again. I will pass on your thanks to Christine.
Great service from front office. My room on level 9 was very spacious and clean. Great views of Glenelg. WIFI was great for downloading reports. Ordered room service for breakfast, bacon and eggs was delicious and very fresh. Great location. Would recommend this place for business.
Reply from Nicole Catabran: Hi there, thank you for taking the time to write such a great review. Our accommodation is certainly perfect for corporate stays so we're glad to hear you enjoyed it. Hope to see you again in future business trips!
I was on the 1st floor (to save $), so the view was a bit limited of course. Overall though it was a nice stay for 4 nights. Room was nice and comfortable and the shower room had a good powerful fan to blow away the steam. A real plus was the continental breakfast (as part of the room rate) up on floor 9, with a great view and friendly staff. Just a short walk to heaps of little eating places around Glenelg. Internet was free for basic emails. I only maxed out once and for $2 got all the internet I needed for the day.
I was staying for a conference in central Adelaide and used the Glenelg tram to get there. Takes about 40 minutes but being able to stay near the sea and relax in the evenings really made it worth it. If you have a conference, consider this option.
Reply from Craig Leverenz: Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. I’m glad you enjoyed your stay. I personally think it’s a lot nicer to stay in Glenelg than in the city. Not only do you have the beach, but a large variety of shops, restaurants, cafes, bars, and transport all within walking distance. Unfortunately the views are somewhat limited in some of our 1st floor rooms compared to our rooms on the 9th-11th floor with private balconies. Hopefully next time you stay, you’ll have the opportunity to give one of these rooms a try.
Roomy accommodation with open air balcony overlooking the sea and marina - very clean with comfy chairs in the room. Staff were exceptionally accommodating and helpful - front desk and room service staff. The hotel has good public transport access to the airfield, Keswick and the city and beyond. If you are 60+ make sure you know the benefits of this on public transport. Look at bus route 300 for a tour of the Adelaide surrounds, J1 for the airport (for next time). Plenty of good eating options and the chain eateries within 10 mins walk. The building works had no impact on our stay. Value for money, pay a bit over basic and you get much better than basic.
Reply from Nicole Catabran: Hi ChipsBairnsdale, we really appreciate the wonderful feedback and very helpful tips for other travellers. We're pleased to hear our reception staff were able to accommodate for all your needs and that you enjoyed the convenience for our location.
We have just stayed two separate nights at Atlantic Tower, our first and last night of a 10 day trip to SA. We prefer Glenelg to the city as it is easy to get to the airport, has the beach and to the marina and a relaxed atmosphere. Atlantic Tower offers great views of the Marina and ocean and good value for money with free parking (or $10 for a secure park), and continental breakfast included (or $10 for cooked breakfast). Julie in the breakfast room was very helpful with street directions and the receptionists were helpful and friendly as well. We will definitely return.
Reply from : Thank you for your wonderful review Jan, I’m glad you enjoyed your stay. The rooms overlooking the Marina are definitely our most popular. Feel free to request this view again next time you stay.
I took a weekend out completely for myself to relax and to work on some personal writing projects. I live on the other side of Adelaide, but always enjoy being at the seaside, and, on a number of occasions now, have found Glenelg to be a perfect location to get the creative juices flowing, while all that might be needed is close at hand within easy walking distance. This time, I chose Atlantic Tower Motor Inn and was delighted beyond expectations. I had requested a room that was quiet, with an inspiring view and got just that with one on the 11th floor. I could see a little of the gulf, the nearby parklands and the Marina. My room was immaculately clean and very comfortable. The receptionist was most courteous at all times and very efficient. The room service full breakfast with coffee etc. was delicious, satisfying and excellent value at $19.
Reply from Nicole Catabran: Hello Tim, thank you for choosing to stay with us! We are absolutely delighted to hear that we were able to provide you wonderful accommodation for your weekend away and that the fantastic views from our 9th-11th Floor Tower Rooms provided you with lots of inspiration.
Stayed at Atlantic Tower, 10th floor 5 nights April 2013. A great place to stay, room very good with views, thank you for the breakfast. Staff helpful.
Would recommend for others visiting Adelaide to stay there.
Reply from Craig Leverenz: Thank you for the lovely review Lynette. Hope to see you again.
The most helpful attentive staff that bend over backwards to help you out.
We stayed here for a conference and it was the cheapest I could find in Glenelg and was a bit skeptical because usually less in Glenelg means really bad.
But I was pleasantly surprised. The rooms are modern, clean and simple. We had a 10th floor view over the marina and could see up the north Glenelg coast. It was beautiful. It is a simple stay, which suited our needs.
Now the place is currently under Renovations. The balconies are being fixed one at a time so you can open the doors but not go out but you don’t need to. You can sit by the door on the single moveable couches with the sea breeze blowing through.
The staff did everything they could to ensure we were happy and had everything we need. Including getting the chef to come in early to make our breakfasts as we had to leave by 8:00am. We really value the communication and helpfulness of the staff here.
The hotel is walking distance from the marina and jetty road and is directly across from wrigley reserve.
Very happy with our choice of accommodation
Reply from Nicole Catabran: Hi aussie_jacs, we are very proud of our incredible reception team so I'll be sure to pass on these wonderful remarks to them. We're very pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay and we hope to see you again in the future!
Just completed our eighth stay and really enjoyed it once again. Been coming here for eight years and always a delight. We always ask for and get a room on either the 9th or 11th floors, overlooking the Adelaide Hills and the airport. Great to see the sun rise in the morning and watch the planes landing and taking off at night. Sitting in our chairs by the window its like being in a spaceship. The "round" building gives fantastic views.
A big bonus is the free breakfast on the 9th floor, overlooking the marina and the sea. With toast, a varity of cerials, fruit, tea/coffee, the daily paper etc its a good way to start the day. Run in a very efficient manner by the same lady who has managed this area over the past eight years or so.
Even staying on the 11th floor under the revolving resteraunt, the only noises we have ever heard is an occasional rumble.
There is free parking, and if you do go out and come back to a full park due to resteraunt customers, the staff have advised us to just park in the driveway and move in the morning.
We have loved every minute of our stays in this iconic building in Glenelg, and will be coming back again and again, even if just to enjoy the wonderful night time vistas
Reply from Craig Leverenz: Dear Geoff, Thankyou for the wonderful review. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again next time.
After traveling around and staying at many mixed accommodations, this would be on our list as one of the very best staying experiences of the trip. It's obviously an older style Motor Inn (round) & first impressions when entering was it could do with a professional decorating stylist makeover to bring it up to date. However, the rooms are updated, clean, spacious and have absolutely everything needed for a very comfortable stay. First the bed was excellent (most important) and everything was functional, roomy and well thought out for the traveler. For once the bathroom had enough space to put items required, good lighting over the mirror & sufficient hanging rails. Only one thing is I think the shower cubical could easily have been made a bit bigger. A larger bodied guest would find it squashy. Great location near a good hotel, bakeries & the Glenelg Marina. Parking was free, plentiful & accessible. Had previously stayed at the more exclusive Stamford Grand, but much preferred the Atlantic Tower Motor Inn.
Would definitely stay again & recommend it over anything else. Thanks for getting it right Atlantic Tower.
Reply from Nicole Catabran: Hi jaykayjack, thank you for staying with us! We take pride in knowing that we have taken great care and have put lots of thought in decisions about the design of our rooms as well as ensuring we consider each and every guest's wants and needs, so we are absolutely thrilled to hear about the all the things you enjoyed during your stay. We can't wait for when you next stay with us.
Just spent the night here with my 2 children on the 9th floor (June 3rd). We had a ball! The room was beautiful and breakfast a delight. Russell in reception was lovely and welcoming too. We will definitely be back! Thanks, Amanda x
Reply from Craig Leverenz: Thank you for taking the time to provide us with some feedback Amanda. We are very happy that you have enjoyed your stay and we would love to see you again.
Just fantastic, loved everything...room 114 has fantastic views, no afternoon sun...great views of planes taking off, breakfast was included in price (bonus) free parking (unheard of in Glenelg)....pub accross the road had great meal....5 minutes walk to Jetty road and Beach. Loved the place!!! THANKYOU
Reply from Craig Leverenz: I'm happy you had such a great time. We are very lucky, having a round, high-rise building, that virtually all our rooms feature fantastic views!
10th floor spa rooms are very spacious and warming. The sound in the bathroom is a great idea and as for the coloured mood lighting...Wow! Nice touch and excellent placement of the strips too. This could be our regular stopover every 3 weeks. Had spectacular view of the city last time, next time we'd love to have the marina view. Very happy clients :)
Reply from Craig Leverenz: Thanks for the feedback Ben, we would love to have you back. Next time you book, put in a special request for the Marina View.
Easy access to airport, beaches and tram to town. The Atlantic Tower Motor Inn provides a clean, simple room, but its the location that puts it on the "must stay" list. Glenelg is only 12 minutes from the Adelaide airport, and the Glenelg-City Tram is a two block walk away. It has a restaurant on the 12th - top - floor which has good reviews, although we did not eat there. A continental breakfast is included, and there is free parking, although it is crowded on Friday and Saturday nights. Quite easy to find on a local or the NRMA (motor club) map.
Reply from Craig Leverenz: I agree that Glenelg is definitely the "must stay" place in Adelaide. There's always something to do in Glenelg and it's all within walking distance! It does get quite busy on the weekends so it's always a good idea to book in advance.
The reason to stay at this Glenelg icon hits you as you walk through the door of your room. Breathtaking views of the Adelaide Hills, coastline and suburbs smack you in the face through the wall to ceiling windows directly across from the doorway.
The Atlantic Tower Motor Inn is more commonly known as the hotel with the revolving restaurant on the top floor. It was around long before all the high rise hotels and apartments which now block some of its ocean views. But refurbished motel rooms in the 12-storey building have brought it into the 21st century. The refurbishment is a slow process and has yet to make it to the entrance foyer, but don’t let that put you off.
The entry to the rooms is from a circular hallway in the middle of the building, allowing each room maximum exposure to the outside world. The deluxe rooms are on the 9th, 10th and 11th floors, while standard family rooms are on the first floor.
After dumping luggage on the queen-sized bed, the first thing all guests must do is step out on to the balcony and admire the 180-degree views. I could see the hills, city and even parts of the coastline, and without the afternoon sun it was a pleasurable spot to sit in the early evening on a hot day.
Inside, I was particularly impressed with how clean the windows were, ensuring a crystal-clear view of the panorama. The bathroom was crisp, white and modern with much natural lighting. The bed was comfortable enough and free Foxtel movie and sport channels kept me entertained.
A stay at the Atlantic Tower Motor Inn is not complete without a little peek at the revolving restaurant, Top of the World, on the top floor. Diners can start their entree looking to the city and finish their meal overlooking the south. The twinkling street lights provide a stunning setting.
The staff are all very friendly and eager to help. The hotel does have its annoying quirks, including allowing only one visitor to accompany guests to their rooms, unless approval from management is given first.
The good quirks include the breakfast room on the 9th floor, which provides more spectacular views of the marina and Patawolonga while you indulge in the free continental breakfast provisions (or a cooked breakfast for $10).
Reply from Craig Leverenz: I must say all the staff were blown away and surprised to see this amazing review show up in the Saturday Advertiser. We have put a lot of effort into making every guests stay at the motel an experience, from the quality of the rooms to the customer service; so it's fantastic to receive reviews like this.
Only one point that I think needs clearing up - the "quirk" that the reviewer mentioned about only allowing one visitor in the room was a misinterpretation of our terms and conditions. We simply ask that guests don't bring too many guests up to their room, as it may disturb the peace and comfort of surrounding guests if there is too much noise. If for some reason you are planning on having a few visitors, we ask that you let us know, so we can do our best to avoid putting other guests in the surrounding rooms, and we also ask that the visitors leave by 10pm.
Spa Room - Amazing Views. Loved the mood lighting. Watched a movie from the spa which was novelty. Newly renovated room. Walking distance to the centre of town, and the marina. Breakfast room service was yummy and on time.
The only down side is that the hotel itself is a little old, but it is fairly well maintained.
Reply from Craig Leverenz: Thank you for your feedback Nat. The Premium Spa room you stayed in is one of our newest rooms and we have been getting a lot of positive feedback. We are consistently working on upgrading the entire motel to become more modern with lots of new, unique features.
Good Location and Great Views...
My wife and I had a 2 night stay recently at the Atlantic Tower Motor Inn in Glenelg. The motel is a 5-10 minute walk from the tram terminal at Glenelg. We got there 2 hours before the official check-in but it was caused no hassles with the reception desk. In fact the reception desk proved to be consistently hospitable and friendly over the 2 night stay and was more than happy to mind our bags on the 3rd day because of our very late plane departure.
We booked a room on the 10th floor. The hallway outside unfortunately smelt of cigarette smoke but the room was smoke free. The room itself was showing its age a bit but the view of Glenelg and the surrounds defintely made up for it. Included in the $145/night charge was a complimentary continental breakfast for 2.
The motel is opposite a pub which offers a good buffet for about $26 depending on what night of the week it is. Also you have a very wide selectionof restaurants to choose from in Jetty Rd.
If and when I return to Glenelg I would be more than happy to stay at the Atlantic Tower Motor Inn.
Reply from Craig Leverenz: I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Our entire building is non-smoking, so it's unfortunate that someone had to spoil that for you. We ask our guests if they wish to smoke on their balcony, to keep the door closed so the smell doesn't come back inside the building.
Great location. Stayed in Spa bath room with views over the hills. Room good size and very clean with modern decor. The lifts are a little slow and the entry areas outside room from the lifts are a little tired but pleasant surprise when you enter room. Continental breakfast included with option to upgrade for $10. Good value. Room relatively quiet. Options available in close proximity for meals. Would recommend.
Reply from James Brown: Thank you for taking the time to review your stay.
The room in which you stayed is a great example of the quality standard we strive to achieve at the Atlantic Tower with our ongoing improvements and refinements.
Some days during peak times the lifts can get busy. We have recently upgraded all the lift electrics and controls, greatly improving their reliability and efficiency, but we are limited in the number of lifts we have available and appreciate your patience. The foyer and other public spaces near the lifts are just about to receive their new colour schemes and a general freshen up.
Our free continental breakfast and affordable $10 cooked breakfast is a value add-on we see as very important to our guests who are looking to grab a quick bite to eat in the morning – in fact the pricing has not risen in over 6 years! And for those who are for something a little more gourmet, there are 15+ options for a café breakfast within a 5 minute walk.
I would like to start this review with a big thanks to James - the Manager for his great personal service and attention to detail. We were booked into the best room in the house on the 10th floor. This room was very clean, tidy and had been planned exceptional well. The room included a big spa bath and had speakers in the bathroom with "mood" lighting like I have never experienced. Very modern inclusions - ipod connections through the DVD etc. The view was superb!!!
We will be returning to this motel in the Summer and would thoroughly recommend the accommodation. We didn't eat at their restaurant.
Reply from James Brown: You’re very welcome ‘Happy Traveler’ – glad to be of service!
We feel the little extras like the ipod connectivity and mood lighting really add to those rooms nicely – great to hear you enjoyed the features.
Booked a night for my wife's birthday in a refurbished premium spa room (Room 109) on the 10th floor. The room was excellent , clean , well laid out and all the appointments of the room were NOT cheap and nasty , but were of good quality and well thought out for the room they had available, job well done. The view was magnificent , with views of the Patawolnga, Wrigley Reserve, the Marina, Airport and the City , we couldn't get over it , it was so good we decided not to go out for dinner but have fish & chips on the balcony looking at the view and taking pictures. While the reception counter may look a bit tired and need some refurbishment, the people working it were friendly and more than helpful. Thanks for a great weekend Atlantic Tower Motor Inn.
Reply from James Brown: I’m glad you had such a pleasant stay with us. We invested a lot of time designing, reviewing and refining those new spa rooms to ensure they really deliver a great experience – it sounds like the effort has paid off.
Did you notice the little things like being able to see out the balcony from one side of the spa, but are able to watch the TV from the other side – and turn on the bathroom speakers so you can hear what’s on? We heavily sound proofed between the rooms so your neighbours don’t have to listen it!
We have the plans for the foyer almost finished. With co-operation from the new management of the Top of the World Revolving Restaurant, we are giving it a breath of fresh air.
My husband and I wanted to get get away from our teenagers for a night for our 20th Anniversary, and chose the Atlantic because of the balcony. We only live about 12 kms away in Port Adelaide. What fantastic views from room 114. From along the beach, across the airport, the city and on to the hills, from One Tree Hill in the North to Flinders Uni in the South. Great through the day with binoculars and at night with the lights. The room had everything we needed and wasn't too small. The bathroom was clean and the shower was fantastic. The curtains were thick and blocked the sun as it rose on that side of the tower. If we have to say something bad it would have to be the lift is a little slow. We thought the price was justified considering the view (and the shower!). We will definitely be going back when a big electrical storm is forecast! Thanks
Reply from James Brown: Thanks very much A and J for contributing your thoughts.
We are very much spoilt for choice of views at the Atlantic Tower Motor Inn - particularly with every balcony boasting views greater than 180 degrees. The most popular request by far is for a the marina view (which is fantastic - as seen on our home page), but I really like the south coast views stretching from the cliffs at the sea's edge right through to the hills. And yes - it's certainly a spectacle watching a big storm roll across the sea onto the city.
We look forward to seeing you next time.
This was an ideal location for seeing the sights of Glenelg and nearby Adelaide. A 30 min (max) tram ride into the heart of the city of Adelaide meant that we were close to everything we needed. We had a wedding at one of the hotels nearby, so it was a short stroll towards the marina, which is first class, and surrounded by lots of good restaurants and cafes.
Our room was fresh, modern and very clean, with a new, neatly decorated bathroom. The bed was new and very comfortable. The views were great and the staff were welcoming and accommodating. As the building is a tower, the rooms are an interesting shape, radiating out from the circular central corridor. This is a small , family run hotel, and suits travellers who want a quiet night's sleep, but has the advantage of being not far from an active cafe and street scene in an histroic beach side suburb.
You can make tea and coffee in the room, which is an advantage and the breakfast room is relaxed, self serve and economical.
Reply from James Brown: Thanks KB and BS for sharing your thoughts on your stay.
We are very fortunate to have such a great location here at the Bay – it’s a popular spot any time of year. Our round tower is quite iconic in the area – made all the better with the new rooms.
We look forward to seeing you in the future!
Lovely place to stay. Very friendly staff, clean refurbished room with lovely views of the ocean and hills. Would definately stay again and the price was very reasonable.
Reply from Craig Leverenz: Thank you for your feedback Tania, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay.
An unassuming surprise! Lovely, fresh, simple hotel, with well appointed rooms, updated bathrooms, and free continental breakfast, it was great value for money. The room was quiet and the hotel was in close proximity to entertainment and eateries in the area. the parking was free, although the car parking spots are tight. would recommend for a simple and cheap night away.
Reply from Craig Leverenz: Thank you for the lovely review Sarah
We loved our stay at the Atlantic Tower, staff very friendly, nice and clean prices affordable and very close to the ocean and shops. The Ambiance was lovely. What I especially loved was the fact that we were on the 10th floor and there was no outside noise at all night time.
Reply from Craig Leverenz: Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay.
We needed to stay in Adelaide for the weekend and wanting to stay at Glenelg after looking online we choose the Atlantic Tower. The main reason was the reviews it had so we went with them. The Building is round so l was interested in what the rooms would be like. A bigger than Queen size bed that was very comfortable and a good size bathroom. For a three star accommodation it was very good.
Emma who first took our booking was excellent and Kyle who booked us in was also excellent both a credit to their employer. Highly recommended place to stay.
Reply from Nicole Catabran: Hi Lyall, Thank you for such a fantastic review! We are thrilled to hear you had a great stay and I'll be sure to pass on those compliments to Emma and Kyle.
We hope to see you again in the future!
The wife and I stayed here over night when attending a party on the bay.
For the price $102 I think it was on the 11th floor overlooking the ocean and the Glenelg skyline. Very welcoming and comfortable room. Quite with adequate room for the two of us and a comfy bed. Highly recommend. Off street parking was a big plus as well.
Reply from Nicole Catabran: Hi Macka1011, thanks for the wonderful review. We're glad to hear that we were able to accommodate for all your needs. Hope to see you again in the future!
We stayed on both the 9th and 11th floors on two separate occasions. The rooms are not spacious but considering the cost, are adequate, with very nice bathrooms. Reception staff were always very pleasant and helpful. While making my bookings via email, I received prompt and helpful replies to my queries. Two points that may be helpful to others: (a) if you require more than the basic cup, saucer and plate per person, additional cutlery and crockery is available if you request it while making your booking, and (b) on check-in you will be offered a free parking ticket at the public car park immediately next door. The only down-sides (which are minor) were the scaffolding outside the building and the notice on our sliding door of room 98 stating the narrow balcony should not be used because Civil Engineers were investigating issues with the facade. We were requested not to stand or sit out there, but could still open the sliding door. As a keen photographer, that was disappointing so I would suggest you ask, when booking, for a room that doesn't have that restriction. I most certainly recommend the Atlantic Tower, which has the perfect location for exploring Glenelg or catching the tram back into the city.
Reply from Nicole Catabran: Hi Doreen, we really appreciate you taking the time to write such a detailed review, with some very useful tips for other travellers looking to stay at our motel! As you have mentioned, if any extras or special requests are made at the time of booking or anytime before arrival, we are more than happy to assist where we can. Thank you again Doreen and we look forward to your next stay!
We stay in a variety of star rated motel rooms. The motel is not 100% cosmetically wonderful. However our room we found highly comfortable. The service fantastic! Breakfast was very enjoyable as was the view. We paid for a great room not the view walking to it & that I can handle very easily. I’m a fussy lady & I recommend this as a place to stay ... the money we saved went on a wonderful date together.
Reply from Nicole Catabran: Thank you for taking the time to write us such a lovely review, Dee. We're so glad to hear that despite the minor refurbishments being done to the outside of our building, that you still had a fantastic stay. We hope to see you again in the future once refurbishments are complete!
Lovely people, clean rooms, comfortable. Cannot recommend highly enough. The owner is one of the loveliest I have ever come across. The rooms where [sic] clean dark and cozy. The kids loved the view. Great walking distance to heart of Glenelg and the beach. We will be back.
Reply from Nicole Catabran: Hi there, we're grateful for the wonderful review. Looking forward to when you next stay with us!
We spent 3 nights here. Found the man on check in helpful and friendly. The room was a good size with a view over Anzac Hwy, could see the mountain, the city and some water - very pretty. No noise from neighbours or the street. Although the airport is near by there was little noise from the planes. Short walk to Glenelg Beach and an easy tram ride into the city from Jetty Rd. The building is under renovation but we didn’t see or hear any of that.
Reply from Nicole Catabran: We're so glad to hear you enjoyed the incredible views from the 9th-11th Floor Tower Rooms and the convenience of our location. We hope to see you again in the future!
A two night stay in a great location on a budget was my MO and this hit fit the bill.
Large room with a great shower close to the water and walking distance to everything you need. Building is dated but you can’t change that I guess. I’d recommend this motel. Staff were excellent.
Reply from Nicole Catabran: Hi Elizabeth, we really appreciate the wonderful review. We're so glad to hear that we were able to accommodate for all your needs! Our building is quite old, however all our rooms have been updated within the last 5 years. Thanks again for the feedback and hope to see you again!
Fantastic service, very accommodating!
Every interaction with Atlantic Tower Motor Inn was easy and a pleasure. The late check out of 11am on a Sunday was great. I needed an early check in in order to get ready for a wedding and the reception staff kindly accommodated. The motel staff were very friendly and remembered small details of our conversation. The room was clean and modern. The bed, very comfortable. Would definitely stay there again!
Reply from Natasia Mitton: Hi Sarah,
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a lovely review, we're so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Its great to hear that our friendly reception team were helpful and answered an questions you might have had.
We hope to see you again soon!
Location excellent, walking distance to town, cafes, restaurants, KFC for my teenage son! Bakery next door, booze shop across the road, BBQs across the road, Watermark restaurant and bar across the road was the best, all you can eat, music. The room was small but sufficient, had a nice view of park across the road, nice and clean, the pillows were nice and soft. Staff very friendly, cleaners very nice. WIFI excellent and free. Free car park next to hotel also very handy.
Reply from Nicole Catabran: Hi Bronypete, we're so thrilled to hear about all the things you enjoyed about your stay with us! We certainly are proud to be located in the centre of such a prime location as Glenelg. I'll be sure to pass on these compliments to our wonderful reception and housekeeping team. Hope to see you again soon!
An affordable, clean and friendly place to stay with great views.
We stayed on the 11th floor with a view spanning from the city and just a hint of the ocean.
There was a bit of traffic noise with the door open (for fresh air) which is obvs fair enough but totally fine with the door to the balcony shut.
We had a comfy bed and all the basics necessary for a comfy stay.
Great location - just a short walk to Moseley square for food and entertainment plus a nice beach walk in the morning.
Parking and WiFi included for free (just gotta get a little ticket at the front desk to put in your vehicle).
Also had a great selection of tourist paraphernalia for you to find things to do.
Would definitely stay again - thanks!!!
Reply from Natasia Mitton: Hi Amy B,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us- we're so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back next time!
This was the second time that I used ATMI as a base for time away to focus on writing. And for the second time, my stay was everything I was hoping it would be. Peaceful and quiet, impeccably clean, with inspirational views of the sea, park and marina, as well as other interesting buildings. And again, all the staff I encountered, were, without exception, courteous, friendly and helpful. Plus the full breakfast delivered to the room (an option I did not choose everyday, as I also enjoyed the local cafes) was excellent.
Reply from Natasia Mitton: Hi,
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review - we're so glad to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us. We are very lucky here in Glenelg to have such fantastic views in all directions not to mention the wide array of restaurants and cafes to choose from. We hope we can continue to inspire you and your writing.